Aun Cuando Sea un Sacrificio/Even When It’s a Sacrifice


(If you want to read this post in English just go right below the picture.  I´m so sorry, my English is not perfect; please forgive me for my grammar and spelling mistakes. Corrections are welcome.)

Sabemos que debemos dar gracias, siempre. Pero creo que sólo es algo que sabemos que debemos hacer. Tratamos de hacerlo constantemente con las personas que hacen algo por nosotros, tratamos de dar cada vez gracias a Dios por los alimentos que vamos a comer, animamos a los niños a que den gracias cuando alguien les ayuda o les da algo. Damos gracias por las cosas que nos parecen buenas, damos gracias a Dios y a otros muchas veces. Y eso está bien. Así debe ser. También damos gracias cuando Dios responde, cuando las pruebas acaban o cuando vemos el buen resultado de una difícil circunstancia. Pero, ¿damos gracias a Dios cuando duele?

Dar gracias es muy bueno, pero he aprendido que dar gracias cuando es un sacrificio cambia tu vida.

Todo comenzó el 24 de noviembre por la tarde. Mi papá llegó y apenas pudo llegar a su cama. Su mente no estaba funcionando, él estaba turbado, sufriendo. Esa mañana leí 1Pedro, me enfoque especialmente en los versículos 5 a 7. Mi corazón sufría por mi papá, pero a la vez una frase se repetía en mi cabeza, “si es necesario.” Sabía que el Señor tenía el control de eso, pero esa noche lloré con temor de lo que podía suceder.

El martes mi papá parecía estar un poco mejor, así que me fui a la cama agradecida con el Señor por la mejora de mi papá. Al día siguiente en mi tiempo devocional leí el Salmo 50 y estos versículos se quedaron conmigo.

“Ofrece a Dios sacrificio de acción de gracias, y cumple tus votos al Altísimo; e invócame en el día de la angustia; yo te libraré y tú me honrarás.
El que ofrece sacrificio de acción de gracias me honra; y al que ordena bien mi camino, le mostraré la salvación de Dios.” (v. 14-15, 23)

Llegué al trabajo y pensé, “Yo decido darte gracias Señor, pase lo que pase. Yo quiero honrarte, así que te daré gracias aunque sea un sacrificio y yo no pueda entender.”  No habían pasado ni 20 minutos de eso cuando recibo una llamada y lo primero que escucho es una sirena de ambulancia y enseguida a mi mamá diciéndome que ore porque mi papá no reaccionaba. Mi corazón se rompió, mi cerebro se desconectó, mi cuerpo se bloqueó y sólo llore y mientras alguien me abrazaba el Señor me recordó, “Yo sé lo que hago, da gracias”. Y en silencio oré.

Llegué al hospital y al ver a mi papá otra vez quise correr y llorar, pero de nuevo di gracias a Dios por lo que estaba pasando y le pedí que me ayudara a ser fuerte y a animar a mi familia porque yo no podía.

Clamé en el día de mi angustia y el me libró. Quizás no me sacó de las circunstancias ni del dolor, pero al menos creo que me libró de mi misma, y aunque mi carne y mi rostro se afligían, y aunque no me gustaba ver a mi papá así y a mi familia sufrir, sabía que el Señor es sabio, que estaba conmigo, que no nos dejaría ni desampararía y que al dar gracias le estaba honrando; entonces mi corazón sonreía.

Y en medio de eso el Señor nos mostró Su amor y fidelidad a través de Su Palabra, a través de nuestra familia, a través de otras personas y hermanos en Cristo. Me dio esa paz que sobrepasa todo entendimiento, me hizo fuerte con fortaleza en mi alma. Me libró y lo único que puedo hacer es honrarle.

El Señor sacó milagrosamente a mi papá del hospital, y vimos cosas buenas que Él obró a través de eso. Y ahora no sé qué va a pasar, ni cuánto tiempo va a vivir mi papá; en nuestra vida siguen habiendo diversas pruebas y hoy puedo gozarme al saber que la prueba de nuestra fe produce paciencia, al saber que todo es parte del plan de Dios para cumplir Su propósito en mí, un propósito del cual no soy digna, y sin embargo Él me amó y quiso hacer de mí Su obra. Y sigo estando decidida a darle gracias, aunque sea un sacrificio…

A veces es difícil dar gracias, pero me he dado cuenta que cuando reconozco Quién es Él, lo que ha hecho, y lo que es capaz de hacer; cuando medito en Su eterna compasión y misericordia y reconozco Su soberanía, Su dominio, Su amor y sabiduría, me doy cuenta que no puedo hacer menos que dar gracias. Y Él quiere que meditemos en estas cosas, que las recordemos, que las proclamemos, que las compartamos. Y esto me ha cambiado la vida, te cambia la vida recordar constantemente la misericordia de Dios en tu vida, te cambia la vida reconocer que eres incapaz de controlar nada y reconocer constantemente el dominio y sabiduría del Señor. Te llena de gozo, te recuerda el amor de Dios, humilla tu alma, y hace que tu fe aumente… Y cuando lees Su Palabra y lo conoces mejor cada día, tu gratitud hacia Él empieza a fluir naturalmente…

Toda vía estoy muy lejos de tener un corazón agradecido, pero estoy aprendiendo, quiero aprender; y creo que serlo te cambia la perspectiva y te pone a ti y a Dios en el lugar correcto… Así que hagamos nuestra ambición el serle agradables en esto, en dar gracias, en todo, por todo, a todos y especialmente a Él…

IMG_0866

Give Thanks… Even When It’s a Sacrifice?

We know we have to give thanks, always. But I think that sometimes it is only something we know we should do. We try to be thankful when someone does something for us, we give thanks for each meal, and we encourage children to give thanks when the receive something. We give thanks for the things we think are good; we thank God and others many times. And that´s good. It should be that way. We are also thankful when God answers, or when the trials have ended, or when we’re able to see the good results of a bad situation. But, ¿do we give thanks when it hurts?

Giving thanks is a very good thing, but I´ve learned that giving thanks when it´s a sacrifice, it changes your life.

It started the afternoon of November 24th. My dad barely did it to his bed. His mind wasn´t working well, he was disturbed, suffering. That morning I read 1 Peter, verses 5-7 were especial; mi heart was suffering, but one phrase was resounding in my mind, “if needed.” I knew that God was in control, but that night I cried with fear of what could happen later.

On Tuesday my dad seemed to be better, so I went to bed giving thanks to God for this. The next morning in my quiet time I read Psalm 50, and these verses stayed in my mind:

 “Sacrifice thank offerings to God, fulfill your vows to the most high, and call me in the day of trouble; I will deliver you and you will honor me.

Those who sacrifice thank offerings honor me, and to the blameless I will show my salvation.”
Psalm 50:14-15, 23

I arrived to my work and I thought, “Lord, I decide to give thanks to you, whatever it may happen. I want to honor you, so I will give thanks to You even if it´s a sacrifice and I can´t understand.” Less that 20 minutes from my prayer I received a phone call and the first thing I heard was the ambulance siren, and then my mom telling me to pray because my dad was not reacting. My heart broke, my mind turned off, my body was blocked and I cried, and as someone was holding me, the Lord reminded me: “I know what I´m doing, give thanks”. And I silently prayed.

When I arrived to the hospital and saw my dad, I felt like running away, but once again I gave thanks to God for what was happening and I asked Him to help me to be strong and encourage my family because I couldn´t do it.

I called Him on the day of trouble, and He delivered me. Maybe He didn´t take me out of the trouble or pain, but I think He delivered me from myself, and though my flesh and my countenance were afflicted, and though I didn’t like to see my dad in that condition, and my family suffering, I knew that the Lord was wise, that He was with me, that He wouldn’t leave us or forsake us, and that I was honoring Him being thankful; so my heart was smiling.

In the midst of this situation the Lord showed us His love and faithfulness through His Word, through our family, through other people, and through our family in Christ. He gave me that peace that transcends all understanding, He greatly emboldened my soul, He delivered me and all I can do is honoring Him.

The Lord, miraculously, took my dad out of the hospital, and now we can see many good things God made through that situation. And now I don´t know what is going to happen, or how long my dad is going to live; we still have many kinds of trials, but today I can have joy knowing that the testing of our faith produces perseverance, knowing that everything is part of God’s plan to accomplish His purpose in me, a purpose I don´t deserve, and yet He loved me and wanted to make with me His work. And I´m still decided to give thanks, even when it is a sacrifice…

Sometimes it is hard to give thanks, but I´ve noticed that when I recognize Who He is, what he has done, and what He is able to do; when I ponder on His mercy and everlasting compassion; when I recognize His sovereignty, His domain, His love and wisdom, I realize I can´t do anything but give thanks to Him. And He wants us to think on these things, to remember them, to share them. And that has changed my life, thinking of the constant mercy of God in your life changes you, recognize that you are absolutely unable to take control of things and constantly recognize His wisdom changes you. It fills you with joy, reminds you of His great love, humbles your soul, and increases your faith… And when you read His Word, and you get to know Him better every day, your gratitude towards Him starts to flow out naturally…

I´m far from having a thankful heart, but I´m learning, I want to learn; and I think that changes your perspective and puts you and God in the right place… So let’s make our goal to please Him in this, in giving thanks, in everything, for everything, to everyone, and especially to Him…

